Manny's Blog

a blog for kids and kids at heart

Under the Banyan Tree in Waimea, Kauai, HI

11 Comments

Hi Everyone,

I love to go places.  If anyone is going anywhere, I grab my suitcase and stow away.  When you open your bags, you never know, I might be there with you!

Manny at Grove Cafe in Waimea, Kauai, HI

Today I am visiting the town of Waimea ( Wy – may – uh) in the Garden Island of Kauai (Koo – eye) in Hawaii.

Kauai, HI

Mom, Dad and Aunt Cindy stopped for lunch at the Grove Café.  I wasn’t hungry.  I wanted to play.

Manny at Grove Cafe in Waimea, Kauai, HI

The gardener let me ride on the cart.  I wanted to drive, but I was too short.  I hope I grow.

Could this be a bear cave?  Maybe I’ll find my ancestor’s ghosts inside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I didn’t find any ghosts.  There was no pizza in the oven.  My stomach growled.  I was as hungry as a bear.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Grove Café sits on the edge of an old plantation.  They built it without windows.  I didn’t need windows anyway.

It didn’t take too long for the food to arrive.  I behaved myself in the restaurant.  I used my inside voice even though it seemed like outside.  I kept my napkin on my lap except when I used it to wipe my fur.

Finally I got to go play.  Hot weather makes me sweat. It felt good to go down by the ocean, and  climb in the shade of the banyan tree.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The ocean looked inviting, but Mom threatened me with another bath if I got wet.  I climbed on rocks instead.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can visit Mom’s blog and read more about Grove Café.  It is closed for remodeling right now.

Author: Marsha

Hi, I'm Marsha Ingrao, author, blogger and retired teacher/consultant. Read more about me here. http://wp.me/P7tP3I-2

11 thoughts on “Under the Banyan Tree in Waimea, Kauai, HI

  1. Justin Beaver and I are pleased to hear that you had such lovely manners in the restaurant Manny. All that restaurant visiting we did in Belgium really paid off.

  2. I love to see you climbing Manny. Ralph x

  3. Don’t forget to leave a nice tip for the waitress/waiter. 😉

You'll never bark up the wrong tree if you leave a message for me.

