Manny's Blog

a blog for kids and kids at heart

A Dab of Cologne

12 Comments

I couldn’t get enough of Cologne, Germany.  You know I loved riding the choo choo in Cologne.

SFW Manny in Cologne107

Justin and I also enjoyed a boat ride on the Rhine River. that runs through the city of Cologne.

We could see all the important buildings from the boat.

We could see all the important buildings from the boat.

It wasn’t as hard to stay on the boat as it was on the choo choo train.  There were tables and chairs.  We tried them all.

SFW Manny in Cologne124

The first one was too hard.

SFW Manny in Cologne135

The next one was too soft.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The last one was just right.  And we sat there for the entire trip.

Ninety-five percent of the city was bombed in World War II.  In almost 70 years they have rebuilt the city and restored some of the old buildings and the bridges.  Most of the bridges were originally built in the early 1900s, so they were newer when they were destroyed than they are now.

SFW Manny in Cologne147

In 1965, Cologne was the first city to have a freeway all the way around it.

I hope you enjoyed my little dab of Cologne.  Just a touch behind the ears should do it.

Author: Marsha

Hi, I'm Marsha Ingrao, author, blogger and retired teacher/consultant. Read more about me here. http://wp.me/P7tP3I-2

12 thoughts on “A Dab of Cologne

  1. Lovely tour of cologne an dthe hard seats! I enjoy your tours Manny!

  2. We all enjoyed visiting Cologne didn’t we Manny. The cable car ride was my favourite thing. JB

  3. You and Justin had a really exciting time in Cologne. Glad you shared it Manny. No doughnuts with your chocolate drink then ? 😉 Fanny & Stanley send their love. xxx

  4. Oh – a history lesson!
    Sneaky 😉

You'll never bark up the wrong tree if you leave a message for me.

